Com Pho 99

Happy Family Day everyone!

Coming up next is a another new review, Com Pho 99, located on 11019 – 107 Ave.  For those uninitiated, ‘Pho’ is Vietnamese for Beef Noodle Soup and ‘Com’ is Vietnamese for Rice.  I have no idea why they have 99 in the name, could be Wayne Gretzky fans I guess.  The restaurant is cute and small with private sections in it, I didn’t know what to expect looking from the outside but it’s nice in here.

20130217_134332

I ordered the ‘Sate Rice Noodle Soup‘ for $8.99.  My apologizes about the mixing things up in the before taking a picture of my meal, I was over-anxious waiting for my meal and it looked delicious when I first got it I totally forgot to take a presentation picture.  The meal is topped with cucumber slices, chopped red chilies, cilantro, peanuts, green and white onion slices.  It’s a standard looking pho broth with chili oil situation here, at least there seems to be a little bit more to it than some of the other places I’ve been.  The broth is nice and not over-salted, there’s a bit of added flavouring that I noticed when I flipped the noodles but they didn’t add too much flavour to it.  There was a decent amount of beef but a little lacking amount of noodles that were a tad bit overcooked.  Overall, the price of the meal for what you get a on the steep side, especially knowing that across the street at Thanh Son, price is $6.50 (review to come out next).

Review

Broth: 2.5/5   Portion: 2/5   Overall Taste: 3/5   Value: 2.5/5

Overall Satisfaction: 2.5/5

WonderPho_neutral

Com Pho 99 on Urbanspoon

5 Responses to “Com Pho 99”


  1. 1 Ernie Iceman April 23, 2013 at 3:26 PM

    Do you ever get tired of pho?

    • 2 WonderPho April 30, 2013 at 10:43 PM

      I haven’t reviewed lately due to health reasons, but at one point I did suffer from ‘pho fatigue’. I only have a few restaurants left to review and I’m still considering what to do next.

  2. 3 greghongchan April 3, 2014 at 12:30 PM

    It’s been over a year since your last review. I assume you have tried every pho place in etown and have retired from reviewing? I haven’t been to etown in a number of years but I plan to use your blog if/when I’m in town. And who gets tired of pho really?!

    • 4 WonderPho April 3, 2014 at 12:33 PM

      Yeah, I’m pretty much retired although there’s just a few more restaurants to do. Maybe when I’m not as lazy I’ll get back to it.

      Thanks for reading!

      • 5 greghongchan April 3, 2014 at 12:41 PM

        I’m about to embark on my own pho journey in Winnipeg. I’ve been to a handful but I want to try them all. Keep reviewing. I look forward to your next one!


Leave a Reply

Archives

Review Calendar

February 2013
M T W T F S S
« Jan    
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728  

WonderPho Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


