La Pagode

Hi folks,

Next up is La Pagode (17020 – 90 Ave) just north of West Edmonton Mall.  So, I’m really going to cheap out with this review (gimme a break, I’m on vacation!).  The first thing I realized about this restaurant when I looked at the menu…it’s exactly the same as Pagolac!  I’m guessing they’re associated with Pagolac or they’re totally ripping them off and they shouldn’t get away with it.  But then again…

*THE FOLLOWING REVIEW HAS BE REGURGITATED FROM A PREVIOUS REVIEW AND EDITED*

Here I got a ‘Beef with Rice Noodle in Satay Sauce‘ for $12, I hardly had a chance to finish my first cup of complimentary tea before my sizable bowl of steamy noodles came to my table.  First impression: excited!  After my embellishments are added, I give the noodles a flip to cook the bean sprouts and notice this broth is thick, thinner than gravy but thicker than the standard pho broth.  The dark reddish colour of the liquid shows a lot of promise, this is not just pho broth with some added spices, they made this from scratch just for this dish.

Throughout the broth, there’s slices of cucumbers, sliced tomatoes and some lettuce.  All the flavours culminate to create a sweet tasting broth with a very mild saltiness to it, very enjoyable and warming, not spicy at all though.  The noodles oddly enough regarding my past experience, were almost a little too soft, overcooked perhaps, but not a dealbreaker.  There is also a good amount of beef in the dish, they definitely did not skimp on anything on my large order.

Review

Broth: 4/5   Portion: 4.5/5   Overall Taste: 3.5/5   Value: 4/5

Overall Satisfaction: 4/5

P.S. Catch me next week, I’ll be back in Canada and I promise a new full review.

La Pagode on Urbanspoon

1 Response to “La Pagode”


  1. 1 lifeisbetterred January 12, 2013 at 2:53 PM

    Pagolac is my favourite place for satay pho in the city, however La Pagode is closer to home, so I go there all the time. Never disappointed! Great review!


Leave a Reply

Archives

Review Calendar

April 2012
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

WonderPho Twitter

  • Onward to 2013! New developments with the blog will happen soon as I am running out of restaurants to review :P wonderpho.wordpress.com #yeg----- 1 year ago
  • Need confirm if these restaurants have Satay beef noodle soup: Fantasia (11765 Jasper) Pho 97 (12913-97 st) Rice Pad (9616-165 ave) #yegfood----- 1 year ago
  • Need confirmation that the following restaurants have Satay Beef Noodle Soup: Thanh Son (11012 107 ave) Midnight Sun (11003-124 st) #yegfood----- 1 year ago

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

